See what our guests are saying...

We have an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars over both houses. These reviews viewed in their totality (we are happy to supply the full text) give a unique and inarguable perspective on just how seriously we take the business of making our guest's experience a memorable one. It shows how we care about the process, and of course, it shows just how unique our properties are, individually and as a group. Reviews from past guests, as we have grown to learn, are more eloquent and more telling than the cookie cutter reviews generated by agencies. Our former guests' stories help to tell our story, and frankly we are proud of their report. Based on their feedback and our judgment, we will continue to make improvements.

Here are some excerpts from recent reports about our residences:

 

 

Fun, relaxing, and an awesome setting!

5/5 stars

A fabulous setting for an extraordinary family gathering. It was fun getting together with my family in this enjoyable and picturesque setting. Our week together was filled with special moments and splendid time. Sharing the mansion gave us time together for which I am grateful. As our family has grown we have grown apart. Having the time on the river has bonded us again. We have decided to make this an annual occasion.

- Bob R.
Stayed with us November 2013

 

 

AMAZING!! Period!

5/5 stars

My stay at your home was beyond amazing! I am a born and raised New Yorker, and with that, comes very high expectations. This place exceeds all expectations of the perfect getaway destination! This hidden gem is a very short drive from New York City, and it makes you feel like you are in another world. From the moment you pull into the driveway, you know that you are very far from your every day reality. The home itself is stunning. The decor makes you feel comfortable, and the amount of rooms for my guests was perfect. You could never be bored with the many activities that are offered, and at the end of the day to sit in the hot tub, and enjoy the Hudson Valley views with a sunset is exactly what every vacationer deserves. I will come to stay with you every season if I can! Thank you for the beautiful memories. I am looking forward to making many, many more!

- Domonick R.
Stayed with us August 2013

 

 

Great family reunion spot!

5/5 stars

Every year we have a family reunion and we found this great house! The views are a piece of heaven! The space was large enough to host our annual family reunion. The 11 bedrooms were so spacious and the open loft style downstairs was so amazing. We sat in the hot tub and watched the kids play games on the lawn. It was so nice that I think we will make this part of our annual family reunion. The gazebo was so nice at night to sit back and relax in! The staff was so friendly, Kat and Corey responded to our every need! Thanks guys see you next year!

- Shannon A.
Stayed with us August 2013

 

 

LEGENDARY weekend in the Catskills

5/5 stars

A group of nine couples (18 people total) stayed here for two nights. We all had big expectations for this weekend, and all of our expectations were exceeded! First of all, the masterfully restored house manages to hold onto an old hunting lodge feel while bringing in modern conveniences (GREAT kitchen, plasma TVs, Xbox). . The gorgeous property is located maybe 100 yards uphill from the river and has spectacular views. The house is plenty large enough to spread out, and the property is vast enough that we felt completely secluded from the rest of the world. I've been in the woods before, but I have never experienced such complete silence and seclusion. However, the town of Catskill is only a 7 minute drive away and does provide the conveniences of a grocery store, Walmart, Beer World (an absolute must!), and a liquor store. We didn't try any restaurants; we cooked all of our meals at the home.

Owen, the owner (who greeted us himself! Amazing customer service!) and the management team of Kat and Corey could not have made this vacation any easier. If you have a large group and are looking for a rustic cabin-in-the-words feel for a weekend of relaxation and catching up, then look no further: this is the place for you. I can't wait to stay here again!

PS. Be sure to spend lots of time in the man cave—you'll know what I'm talking about once you arrive!

- Mark R.
Stayed with us January 2013

 

 

Awesome house!

4/5 stars

"This was such a beautiful house; spacious and open. The view of the river and the surrounding areas are exquisite, and it was especially nice to be able to sit in the hot tub and look out over the river! The wood-burning fireplaces were a great addition to the weekend. A spectacular house!"

- Jordan D.
Stayed with us December 2012

 

 

Amazing stay, magical place!

5/5 stars

"This place was amazing! If you want a secluded spot for many of your friends and still want to have many things close by, this is the place for you! The house is beautiful, clean and neat. The service is great, they even sent a couple of people to check on us to make sure we had everything we needed halfway thru our stay! I would recommend this any day! Going again soon hopefully! Dont miss out!"

- Mike C.
Stayed with us November 2012

 

 

Breathtaking!

5/5 stars

"The River House is a beauty! One of the nicest I have EVER rented! From the day I booked it, to our arrival and departure, I couldn't have been happier with my choice. Owen was a pleasure to speak with and always available for questions.

We booked our stay for a family reunion and found it incredible. We were greeted upon arrival (which usually doesn't happen with rentals) and given a house tour.

The house is clean, open, spacious, well decorated and has great detail as well as decor. There is so much light flowing into the house and we were amazed watching the sunrise and sunsets from the decks. The pool area is extremely unique and we had never seen anything like it. The brick structure with window panes around the pool is fabulous. The hot tub is situated perfectly near the pool, on the back of the property looking directly out to the Hudson River. It is absolutely gorgeous and perfectly placed.

I cannot say enough about the views from this home; they are absolutely breathtaking. We are already planning next year's trip back to 'The River House.'"

- Shannon A.
Stayed with us September 2012

 

 

Relaxing week in the Catskills!

4/5 stars

"We had a wonderfully relaxing week in the Catskills. The location of the house was great for touring the area and the view was spectacular. The pool was very nice on the particularly hot days. Thanks so much for everything."

- Jill S.
Stayed with us July 2012

 

 

Fabulous home!

5/5 stars

"My friends and I rented the house over President's Day weekend and could not have been more pleased with the home, the amenities and the grounds. We have rented homes in Vermont, New York, Penn etc and have never been more impressed than we were with this house. Every couple had a large bedroom. There was ample space downstairs for us all to gather for board games and to relax. The outdoor hot tub was a great touch and something we used throughout most of our stay. We are a fairly avid cooks and the kitchen was more than ample—in fact it was large and beautiful. We didn't leave the house for a single meal.

If you are looking for a beautiful home near NYC you should look no further."

- Gabriel E.
Stayed with us February 2012  

 

Absolutely gorgeous, highly recommend

5/5 stars

"My college friends and I have been renting houses for New Year's for the past decade, and this was by far the best house we have ever stayed at. The views of the river made us feel like millionaires, especially from the hot tub. The house is nestled in the woods, so it feels nice and private, but it's also close to some great upstate towns (Hudson, Saugerties), if you want to eat out at nice restaurants. Highly suggest this place for large groups!"

- Mina H.
Stayed with us December 2011

 

 

AMAZING!

5/5 stars

"When my friends and I first arrived we could not believe how gorgeous the house was! The house, the area, everything about this place was perfect. My friends and I always go away on vacation and rent out cabins/houses and this was by far the best one we have ever been to, and the nicest most helpful owners we have ever had. You honestly couldn't ask for more."

- Camilo G.
Stayed with us January 2012

 

 

Christmas Spectacular

4/5 stars

"Ten of us spent four days over Christmas at the River House - and it was exactly what we had hoped for. The house is enormous yet somehow cozy, the views are spectacular, it's peaceful, quiet, and the perfect remedy for busy Manhattanites! The bedrooms were spacious and well laid out, the kitchen was brilliant, the living spaces are just gorgeous, and the house is perfectly located for local activities. All in all, highly reccommend this. It's amazing for an NYC getaway—super easy trip on the train or in a car. We'll be back!"

- Fiona T.
Stayed with us December 2011

 

 

Perfect Getaway from NYC

5/5 stars

"A group of us drove from Manhattan to celebrate our best friend's 30th birthday. I cannot tell you what a wonderful weekend we had at this house! We were blown away by the hospitality! We had planned a few excursions outside of the house but to be honest, we only did one of them because we were having so much fun & didn't want to leave! The property is absolutely gorgeous & we enjoyed every aspect of the house—from the hot tub to the X-Box."

- Kristy A.
Stayed with us December 2011

 

 

An ideal Fall getaway

5/5 stars

"My family and I hosted a large group of family with ages ranging from 70 to 1 year old. Everyone loved the expansive house and there was plenty of room for all the kids to disappear and play while the adults caught up. The house is situated on a gorgeous location and even the non-early birds were hard pressed to miss a sunrise on the Hudson. I could not recommend this home more highly to large groups that like an isolated setting with easy access to nature and the Hudson river."

- John
Stayed with us November 2011

 

 

Wonderful birthday weekend

5/5 stars

"We had 12 friends up from NYC to celebrate my 40th birthday. The property was easy to get to and picturesque, and made all the nicer by how the owner and property managers had it lit up and decorated with balloons for our arrival."

- Preeti P.
Stayed with us October 2011

 

 

Great Autumn Getaway

5/5 stars

"A large group of us recently spent a wonderful weekend celebrating my fiance's birthday at this property. The house has a lot of character (something that you don't usually get when you are staying in a rental property) and has space to gather and space to be alone. The property is beautiful with lot of trails to explore, and waking up to wild turkeys grazing in the back yard with the majestic backdrop of river barges travelling up and down the Hudson was incredibly special and unforgettable. Also, this is a very dog-friendly property. One of the most stress-free rentals I've stayed at."

- Betsey F.
Stayed with us September 2011

 

 

Had an awesome weekend!

5/5 stars

"This dog friendly property with heated pool and hot tub is just far enough away to be a secluded country oasis that you never have to leave, and just close enough to town that you don't feel stranded. The only time we left was to grab food at Price Chopper, which was only a 10 minute drive, and open 24 hours. Unique, charming, and rustic. Awesome. Best weekend ever."

- Nathan N.
Stayed with us June 2012

 

 

A place to reflect and unwind

5/5 stars

"With 9 large bedrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, a long porch with great views, pool and Jacuzzi and a lifetime worth of books, this home is ideal for large groups and family reunions. The house is rustic and eclectic at the same time with blown glass pendant lights, claw foot tubs and photos that try to describe the history of the house and the achievements of its owner.

There is plenty of cleared yard for a game of wiffleball, a small heated pool and a huge hot tub with built-in lights and stereo. You can take the kayaks down to the river, try some fishing (we caught a nice striper), take a walk. We would absolutely return."

- Joe C.
Stayed with us May 2012

 

 

Amazing House

5/5 stars

"The bottom line is that this property is incredible. We had a group of about 16 looking to stay up in the Catskills. Needless to say, this was absolutely perfect. The house was huge! It fit all of us comfortably for the weekend without feeling crammed in the least. The kitchen is huge and great for making a big breakfast or dinner. There is a big table out in the living room with a beautiful view of the Hudson—it's so close, too! All around, the house is perfect for a weekend getaway with friends. The house is very secluded while at the same time easily accessible, only a few minutes off the highway. I definitely plan on staying there again."

- Joe N.
Stayed with us February 2012

 

 

Big house, huge outdoor space, lots of rooms

5/5 stars

"This house was great. The large number of bedrooms was very convenient for a large number of couples. The kitchen was well stocked and large enough to cook for 12. The view of the Hudson was amazing. The large property provided plenty of seclusion and space to roam. The wood burning stove and fireplace added the right ambiance to our stay."

- Maxim Z.
Stayed with us December 2011

 

 

Great for a big gathering!

5/5 stars

"The property feels very remote and private, though stores, and the NYS Thruway, are only a few minutes away. The grounds are beautiful, and the rambling lodge with its accommodating kitchen and large dining areas, as well as the 9 bedrooms and various common areas, allowed us to settle in and relax without feeling cramped in any way. We'll definitely be back next year."

- David S.
Stayed with us August 2011